Squats are Evil

Ok, so that’s just my opinion but how can so little of something hurt so much?

IMG_1941
My Face in shock.

I went to the gym on Saturday and have been putting off bum/thigh exercises because I’m not very good at them. I know they should be done if I want to tone up my thighs but I just keep putting them off. I bit the bullet and decided to just do 3 sets of 10 squats with the lightest kettlebell.

The first set wasn’t too bad so I felt like I could do it.

The second set got harder and my legs were burning so much that I didn’t want to do the third set.

The third set was hard but I did it and was happy I had done all three.

IMG_1944
Showing off my new gym wear from Get The Label

The only problem was that pretty much as soon as I got home, the tops of my thighs were hurting and I knew I was in for some pain! Forget about 2 day ache, mine was ouchy straight away! Then yesterday, we decided to tidy up all our kitchen cupboards and re-organise them. I went to kneel down on the floor and let out an almighty yelp as my thighs were screaming out in pain! Still today, when I have to bend down, I have to be careful to make sure I don’t hurt myself.

I only did a small amount but I suppose you have to start somewhere right? Maybe I shouldn’t have done as much (though I really think I kept it minimal) but I did what I felt was enough to ease myself in.

I think the moral of this story is, if you really don’t want to do something, then don’t. No one can force you and that’s ok. However, if you want the benefits of the thing you don’t want to do, then sometimes you just have to go with it and see how you get on.

Are there any exercises you really hate doing but know that the benefits outweigh the not wanting to do them?

No Pain, no gain I suppose!

SIMW

xx

Leave a Reply

