Making Chapattis: A good attempt

Ok, so I know this isn’t rocket science, and there are lots of recipes out there to make chapattis, but I had to give it a go myself being that I have grown up in a house where they were made constantly.

I have helped my mum and dad make these loads of times, but never made them myself (not that I can remember). So here are a few pics from my attempt.

FullSizeRender
pretending I know what I’m doing.

IMG_6388

I used:

  • 300 g chapatti flour (you can buy this from Tesco but its in massive 5kg bags)
  • 200 ml water
  • rolling-pin (£1.50 from Tesco!)
  • Flat chapatti pan (I got mine for Christmas but you can get them on Ebay

It is really simple to make these; it just takes a bit of trial and error.

Get a large bowl and pour your flour in. Make a hole in the middle. Start pouring the water in bit by bit whilst stirring the dough and checking the consistency. You may not need the full 200ml. Then knead the dough for 5 minutes and split up into 6 balls.

Spread some more chapatti flour on a work top and also on the rolling-pin (stops it sticking) and roll out your chapattis. Make sure while rolling, you turn the chapatti and flip it so you get it as round as possible while rolling and also so it doesn’t stick to the worktop.

Preheat your pan (no oil needed) and turn on your extractor fan or open a window because it can get quite smokey/burny (don’t worry its supposed to!)

After about 30 seconds, put your first chapatti on the pan and after a minute (or when bubbles appear) turn it over for another minute and then plonk it on a plate. At this point, you can choose to spread some butter if you want (not recommended for weight loss). Do this with all your chapattis until they’re done. I had 4 good chapattis out of 6 because 2 of them were hard. I think this was down to rolling the dough too thin and having the pan too hot. Next time I will have my heat on medium instead of full whack and wont have my chapattis as thin. It really is trial and error I’m afraid!

And that’s it! I had mine with a chicken curry I made that was nommy!

IMG_6385

Let me know how your first attempts at making these go. I would love to hear from you!

NB: I will say. I made these as a healthier alternative to naan breads but its important to remember that these are still starchy and flour based, so if you’re on a weight loss journey or trying to eat healthier, don’t have them all the time, but more as a treat or just as something different!

SIMW

x

Leave a Reply

