Slimming World Ready Meals Review!

THEY HAVE ARRIVED!

Ok so I was super excited for this release, purely because I love the Slimming World recipes and had high hopes for these meals as the recipes are really tasty.

Available exclusively at Iceland stores and online, this was ideal for me as Iceland is one of my regular places to shop anyway. I plan on having a few of these meals in stock for those days when I am either too knackered to cook or just feeling a bit lazy.

The meals I chose were the Meatballs & pasta with a spicy tomato sauce and the Chicken tikka masala. Queue vain pose with the meals:

FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender[4]

My mum tried the Beef in red onion gravy with veg crush but also bought the Hot-smoked salmon farfalle to try.

NB: This is an honest opinion and is in no way endorsed by Slimming World. I have genuinely wanted to try these ever since my mum told me they were being released.

So last night I tried the Meatballs with pasta dish. It looks like this before going in the microwave.

FullSizeRender[3]

It definitely looks better than other frozen ready meals I have had; that’s before it cooked! I followed the microwave instructions on the pack which were pretty easy to follow. One thing I noticed right away is that this meal in particular is quite high for calories and was about 550 calories for the whole thing. However, if you are on Slimming World plan, then these meals are all classed as Free. I try to have an even balance and not completely concentrate on calories but rather on how healthy the foods I eat are. I allowed the meal to cool for a minute as the instructions stated and then plated mine up with a side salad of bagged lettuce,tomatoes,cucumber and onion.

FullSizeRender[4]
The meal just out of the microwave.
meatballs.jpg
Plated up with my salad.

I wasn’t sure how the meatballs would taste because meat in frozen ready meals tends to leave a lot to be desired and can taste like cardboard. However, when I bit into a  meatball it was so meaty!

FullSizeRender
super meaty meatball!

These are really good quality meatballs and I was really impressed with them. The meat is beef and pork mixed together but I didn’t realise this and just thought they were beef. The meatballs weren’t soggy or full of breadcrumbs but were firm and juicy. The pasta was nice too but I have to admit there wasn’t a lot of sauce in the meal and the sauce that was there, was pretty watery. I added a bit of salt just for my taste but maybe a kick of chilli in the recipe wouldn’t have gone amiss.

I wasn’t expecting these meals to be a replacement or my normal food but just to have for those days when I really cannot be bothered to make anything, that I can quickly throw in the microwave and ding. That’s what they do!

My mum had the beef with veg crush, which she really enjoyed. She had hers with cabbage but did say that the veg crush was not to her taste as, again, it was too watery. One fantastic thing though, it that she said she was going to use the recipe on the back of the pack (yes, they all come with a recipe to allow you to re-create your own version) and make it again in future. I think this is the main point of these meals; that you can easily recreate them at home using easy to obtain ingredients.

I am really looking forward to trying the Chicken Tikka Masala because I love a good curry and I have also made the Slimming World recipe for this at home previously. It will be interesting to see Slimming World’s own take on a classic curry!

These meals are generously portioned and ideal for anyone both on the SW plan and also who are just looking to change-up their meals a bit for something different. I also think the price of £3 is fair because you get a lot for your money and these meals alone without a side dish would still be filling. Next on my list are the Singapore Noodles as I have heard fab things about these on the internet waves!

I definitely recommend anyone to give these a go because they really are ideal for those days when you are just too busy to cook or just want an easy, healthy meal.

Good Job Slimming World. I am a convert! 😉

For the full range, check out Slimming world website here or go to Iceland’s page about the meals to order.

10 thoughts on “Slimming World Ready Meals Review!

  1. Ooooh I need to get me some of these! They look great for a ready meal, I tend to have a couple of the WW ones in the freezer but they’re not really great and don’t go well with the SW plan. It’s cool that the recipes are on the boxes too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi hun, thanks for commenting! Yeah its one portion. My mum got confused as the recipe on the back says its for 4 people but thats just the recipe for if you decided to remake it yourself. The frozen meal is for one. 🙂 Hope this helps x

      Like

  2. I notice in the nutrition information it gives it per 100g, but the meal is actually 500g or more, so once you times it by 5 it’s rather a lot of calories. A little misleading from a company claiming to help people lose weight. Some people get that you need to look properly at this information but others may just glance at it and go with the 72kcal and think they can have pudding too.

    Like

    1. To be honest, a lot of meals are written in per 100g, so I would expect someone to check the packaging, especially if they’re counting calories and watching what they eat. I appreciate that some who may not check properly may get confused but I would be very surprised if someone actually thought a meal of that size was just 72 calories. And you can still have pudding, I do! 🙂 It’s still a decent amount of calories that you would expect to eat for a meal I find.

      Like

Leave a Reply

