“On Wednesdays we wear pink”-The Mean Girls Phenomenon

Ok so this is not really related to weight loss but I had to write a post as it tickled me so much.

Whilst walking to work this morning, these 3 girls walked past me on their way to school. As I glanced at them I suddenly realised with glee that they looked like a carbon copy of each other.

They all had the same style of duffle coat with fur around the trim. They all had long black midi skirts on (possibly uniform but you can wear trousers). They all had the same black tights on. They all had similar flat dolly shoes. They all had their bag held in the elbow join of their right arm. And get this, even their strides were almost in sync!Two of them had dyed blonde hair too but I couldn’t see the third as she had her hood up.

This made me chuckle so much because I realised that at that age, nobody wants to stand out. We all want to fit in with our peers and come across as likeable. Those of us who choose to stand out are marked with cruel nicknames and such like when all we are trying to be is unique.

Although I didn’t know these girls and they gave me no indication as to what their personalities were like, I likened them to the 3 clicky girls in the film ‘Mean Girls’.

“On Wednesdays we wear pink.” That sort of thing.

I now call out to women of all ages who feel they are not showing their true colours and are too afraid to break out of the mould. Borrowing those famous words;

 ‘Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else.’ Judy Garland

I know for teenagers it’s slightly different and sometimes you sacrifice parts of your personality to make sure you fit in. It’s one of the most scary things allowing people to see the real and true version of you at that age. I get that. But maybe once in a while just let out a little bit of yourself; I guarantee you will feel empowered and grow in confidence. You are original and there is no one else in this world like you, so show it off!

Stay Strong ladies!

SIMW

x

2 thoughts on ““On Wednesdays we wear pink”-The Mean Girls Phenomenon

  1. Hahaha I totally know what you mean. On a recent night out with my girlfriends we noticed how certain “cliques” of girls were all dressed in a similar style. Admittedly they were probably 10years younger than us, but I think that’s what I have learned as I’ve got older – to be comfortable in my style! In my group of friends that isn’t really any of us that dress in a similar style, we all have different hair, taste in clothes, shoes and jewellery 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

