Time for a Pep Talk People!

Hi There Weight Loss Warriors and Readers alike,

I’ve been reading a lot of posts lately about people who are so unhappy with their bodies and themselves in general that I felt the need to write this post.

I see all these messages of ‘Why can’t I lose weight’ and ‘I hate my body, I don’t look right’ and it frustrates me. Firstly, we all have our own skin and we are all unique. No 2 people are the same. We all have our own personalities and traits that make us individuals.

You should be proud of your curves, or of that pouch in your lower belly that grew when you were pregnant. You should be proud of your scars and stretch marks. You should be proud of all the flaws that make you the person you are. Let’s embrace that.

Now I am one of the first people to admit that I used to feel trapped in my body. I had all these things to say but felt inadequate and had no confidence at all. At 17 I didn’t really know my identity or who I was, or what I liked; but I wanted someone to tell me that I was a wonderful person and that my flaws made me unique. I had and still have body hang ups, like most women. I felt I was just a blob with no curves and my stomach stuck out way too far over my jeans. I would wear baggy clothes often to hide my body but would have my boobs on display, almost as a distraction to the rest of me. I was also massively self conscious of the amount of body hair on my body, namely my face.

Looking back at old photos now I cringe. I was not confident and I wasn’t fooling anyone.

1664_58021340069_3906_n
Me at 17 faking confidence (ignore the crazy makeup and mad piercings…oh and the massive boobs)

I would have days where I felt good about myself because I’d done my hair a certain way or bought new clothes; but it would only take a funny look from someone or seeing people whispering behind me (even though I didn’t hear them so had no idea what they were saying) to knock my confidence back down to zero.

It’s only now I’m older that I realise that life is short and you should enjoy your body to its fullest for as long as you are in it.It’s a shame that its only now that I realise that what other people think shouldn’t matter. Everyone is on their own path and you should NEVER compare yourself to them.

be-happy-love-love-yourself-pink-quote-Favim.com-301088

If you want to do something, then do it to benefit yourself and not anyone else. Be happy in your own skin and ignore everyone who may seem to be watching your every move.You are beautiful You don’t have to prove your worth to the world but you do have to realise it within yourself. You ARE worthy of that job or the attention that someone gives you (who may be looking at you because they may want to know more about you.)

FullSizeRender

Take that chance and let yourself flourish. If you genuinely want to lose weight to feel healthier and better about yourself, then go for it but enjoy your current body too. Try to do things that a lack of confidence may make difficult, but do them anyway. Appreciate your worth and take steps to further your journey of happiness. This life is a gift, make it special.

Much love from SIMW

x

P.S: If anyone ever wants to get in touch or needs a pick me up, just email or comment and I will respond as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

