Still slimming away…

Hi everyone, firstly I have to apologise for my lack of activity lately. I seemed to have lost my creativity and oomph in writing. As I sit here, I am willing myself to catch you all up on my weight loss journey and other goings on.

So, to cut to the chase. I now weigh 17 stone 2.5lb which is good. I have just come back off holiday for 2 weeks to Menorca with my lovely partner.I only put on 2lb’s the whole time (I clearly fluked it) and have almost completed my first week of work after being off (boo). Halloween is tomorrow and I have been researching recipes to use pumpkin innards, to try and keep my Halloween healthy-ish. My mum bought me some parkin while I was on holiday but I am yet to see evidence of this (I think she’s eaten it). I went back to the gym after 2 weeks off and my muscles were aching, it seemed harder than usual; it’s amazing how quickly you lose your fitness if you dont keep exercising, even if you don’t put much weight on.

Recently I have had a bit of anxiety as I have been suffering from a dull headache and dizzyness for a short while; I finally managed to get a doctor’s appointment today so will update you on how it goes. I do suffer from anxiety but thought I had it in check. Ah well, life must go on, headache or not.

I am planning on making a slimming world recipe this weekend for sort of a Bonfire Night treat. The recipe is here:

Bonfire night cheese-topped bangers and mash pie

Bonfire night cheese-topped bangers and mash pie

  • Suitable for vegetarians
  • Serves: 4
  • Prep. time: 10 minutes
  • Cook time: 1 hour 10 minutes
  • Total time: Over 60 Minutes

Ingredients

  • Low calorie cooking spray
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 8 Quorn sausages, roughly chopped
  • 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • 400g can mixed beans, drained and rinsed
  • 200g mixed vegetables
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Freshly chopped herbs, to garnish

Topping

  • 900g potatoes, peeled and roughly diced
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tbsp fat free fromage frais
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 120g Cheddar cheese, grated
  • Pinch of grated nutmeg
  • 4 tbsp dried parsley

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ºC/160°C Fan/Gas 4 and prepare the topping. Boil the potatoes in lightly salted water for 15-20 minutes until soft. Drain and mash with the fromage frais, beaten egg, cheese, nutmeg and dried parsley. Season well and set aside.
  2. Spray a pan with low calorie cooking spray and cook the onion, garlic, sausages and tomatoes. Stir and cook for 20 minutes. Add the mixed beans, mixed vegetables and soy sauce, season and pour into an ovenproof dish. Carefully spread the potato mixture over the top.
  3. Cook in the oven for 25-30 minutes until the topping is lightly browned. Serve garnished with the freshly chopped herbs.

Recipe taken from the Slimming World website:http://group.slimmingworld.com/recipes/bonfire-night-pie.aspx

I will let you know how it goes but in the mean time, have faith that I will try and update this as and when I can. I have not forgotten why I started this blog so rest assured I still have time for any questions anyone may have. I am still slimming it my way I promise!

SIMW

x

Leave a Reply

