Burger in a Bowl

This may not be a posh recipe but I find it works well to curb your McDonald’s craving and also you forget there is no bread to house your burger goodness!

Burger in a bowl
My Version of the Burger in a Bowl

I actually got the recipe from the Fakeaways book that I got my mum to get me from Slimming World (have to say this is the best book ever for healthy takeaway style recipes, even though I am not endorsing it, just my personal opinion). I would put the link to the recipe but I don’t think you can see it unless you are a member of their lifeline online group. So here are the ingredients and method instead:

Ingredients

Low calorie cooking spray
500g lean beef mince (5% fat or less)
1 onion, finely chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
½ iceberg lettuce, roughly shredded
8 gherkins, sliced
1 small red onion, finely chopped
2 tomatoes, roughly chopped

For the sauce

3 level tbsp extra-light mayonnaise
5 tbsp fat free fromage frais
1 level tbsp American-style mustard
2 tbsp tomato purée
2 tsp white wine vinegar
½ tsp garlic salt
¼ tsp onion granules
¼ tsp sweet smoked paprika

Method

Spray a large, heavy-based non-stick frying pan with low calorie cooking spray and place over a high heat. Add the beef, onion and garlic and stir-fry for 6-7 minutes or until the beef is cooked through and the onions have softened. Season well.
Meanwhile, put all the sauce ingredients in a bowl with 4 tablespoons of water and whisk until well combined.
Mix together the lettuce, gherkins, onions and tomatoes and divide between four wide bowls. Spoon the beef mixture on top, drizzle over the sauce and serve hot.

I found this really easy to make and it tasted fantastic, I didn’t have any gherkins when I made mine though, so just used cucumber which seemed ok. One problem; it is incredibly moreish so only make the portion you intend to eat and don’t have any left over or you could be at great risk of stuffing the rest in!

Either that or tape your mouth shut!

SIMW

 

Leave a Reply

